Friday, May 9, 2014

Haven Series Books 1 & 2 Collection Set Review + Giveaway

Disclosure: I got this product as part of an advertorial.

A Special Thank you to the Author D.C. Akers for allowing me the opportunity to read and review this spellbinding Series and for sponsoring this giveaway of a Haven Series Collection Set to one of my lucky readers! 
A little about the Haven Book Series:

Haven Series Collection (Books 1 & 2)
Known as a place of refuge, Haven is a sanctuary for those with supernatural abilities. Decades of peace between the Witches, Vampires, Goblins, Elves, and Orcs is coming to an end. Now the once tranquil world is shrouded in deception and corruption. Dark secrets tear at the very fabric of their alliance, giving way to an evil that stirs in the shadows. Exhilarating and utterly gripping, the HAVEN series is an action-packed journey full of suspense, magic, mystery, and intrigue.

Sounds mysterious, suspenseful and intriguing, I was hooked already.

I talk about my love of reading often. I read because I enjoy it. I read for fun, to learn, to find interesting new, sometimes obscure things to fill my head with. I read to escape, and fall in love with a fantastic story and great characters that become people that I care about.

Which is exactly what happened when I read Book 1 of the Haven Series, A Stranger Magic. I found the book to be fast paced, and thoroughly enjoyable. The brother and sister duo, Sam and Sarah are fun to be with, and I enjoyed tagging along for the ride.

A Stranger Magic (Book 1):
Sam Dalcome thinks he is so completely average that no one ever notices him. Until he discovers a mysterious stranger outside his home. Bewildered, he tries to uncover the stranger’s intentions. But Sam is sidetracked when he and his friend Travis discover a secret passageway deep in the town’s quarry that leads to a hidden cavern. What they uncover next will not only change their lives forever, but will uncover the first clue to a deadly Dalcome family secret. Sam finds himself drawn into a world of mystery and magic he never knew existed, which brings him closer to a destiny he never knew was possible.

Needing to know what happens next, I immediately started on Book 2, Revenge of the Viper. Imagine my surprise...

Revenge of the Viper (Book 2):

The Great War of Haven ended thirteen years ago but Alisa Dalcome is about to discover that the war did not end for her. Placed on Earth as a sleeper agent for the Majesty of Haven, Alisa had one objective—protect the portal keys at all costs. In the wrong hands the magical keys could jeopardize the safety of everyone on Haven. But Alisa’s relocation was more than just Majesty business; it was also a chance for her to escape her enemies, enemies that still wanted her dead. Alisa wasn’t thinking about herself when she left Haven, she was thinking about her children Sam and Sarah. The Great War had already taken her husband Rylan; she would be damned if she would let it take her children too. But what Alisa didn’t count on was her inquisitive son Sam and his friend Travis. Sam’s world has turned upside down after discovering magic is real. After barely escaping the caves Sam begins to piece together the past day’s events when he stumbles onto his mother’s secret past. With the clues mounting, Sam must dig deeper to uncover the truth that could change his life forever.

Revenge of the Viper really built on book 1, introducing and learning more about characters that are really central to the story.  I really enjoyed reading the Haven Series. and I cannot wait to find out what happens next.  

I found the Haven Series to be somewhat Harry Potter-esque, with a bit of LOTR and Stardust thrown in. But really, there was so much more than just that.  

The Haven series is rated TEEN, but I think any YA reader to adult that enjoys this genre, then the Haven Series is definitely for you! My 12 year old wants to read it next. 

Now, go find out for yourself!  

Enter the giveaway below for a free code to download your very own copy of the Haven Book Series Collection! The Giveaway runs until through 5-18-14 and is open to US residents 18 and up.   


a Rafflecopter giveaway

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

(All posts may contain affiliate links. Read my disclosure policy

Click here to support my blog on Top Mommy Blogs

No comments:

Post a Comment